Archive for October 28th, 2009

28
Oct
09

Calculating CPMs and Impressions

Online display advertising is often traded on a CPM basis. But what does this mean? CPM means cost per thousand impressions. So if your CPM is £1, you are paying £1 for thousand times your ad is seen.  The lower your CPM the more impressions you will get for the same budget.  A budget of £10,000 spent at a  CPM of £2 will secure 5,000,000 impressions. A budget of £10,000 spent at a CPM of £1 will secure 10,000,000 impressions.  It’s worth pointing out that this does not mean you will actually reach 5m or 10m real people. Sometimes some people will see your ad twice, three times or even four times, depending on the level of frequency planned into your campaign. You could buy 10,000,000 impressions but actually only reach only 3m people, who would see your ad an average of 3.3 times. Managing this relationship between budget, cost, impressions and frequency is part of the role of the media planner.

There’s a nice little CPM calculator here.

28
Oct
09

Online display advertising formats

Theres a good guide to the different online advertising display formats here.

28
Oct
09

Key types of digital display advertising media buy

Here’s a list of the key types of digital online display advertising media buy:

  • Affiliate Display – display ads run as part of an affiliate display campaign for new customer acquisition – usually traded on a cost per click, cost per lead, or cost per sale basis.
  • Behavioural targeting – online display ads shown to users who are anonymously tracked as using certain sites
  • CPM Display – buying display formats like banners, MPUs and buttons on sites traded on a CPM basis
  • CPC Display – buying display formats like banners, MPUs and buttons on sites traded on a CPC (Cost per Click) basis
  • Contextual targeting – display ads that are targeted based on the content of the site (can include in-text boxes)
  • Newsletter / bulletin banners – display banners and buttons etc included in digital newsletters
  • Retargeting – showing ads to people who have visited your site and then transferred into an online advertising network like Specific Media